Majima Lab
Laboratory for Materials and Structures
Dept. of Materials Science and Engineering
Tokyo Institute of Technology
4259 R3-5 Nagatsuta-cho, Midori-ku, Yokohama, 226-8503, Japan.


FY2018 | FY2017 | FY2016 | FY2015 | FY2014 | FY2013 | FY2012 | FY2011 | FY2010 | FY2009 |


  • January 1, 2019, Assistant Prof. Jung Younsu moved to Sunchon National Univ. as Research Prof.
  • September 6, 2018, SeungJoo Lee, D2 and Ryo Toyama, M2 were awarded poster prizes at KJF-ICOMEP2018 Congratulations!
  • June 20, 2018, Ouyang Chun got Ph.D degree. Congratulations!


  • March 26, 2017, Ain Kwon and Yuma Ito got Master degree. Congratulations!
  • Mar. 26 2018, Yuta Ito (M2) got Best Master Thesis Presentation Award 2017. Congratulations!
  • Mar. 18 2018, Ain Kwon (M2) got Poster Award, JSAP Spring Meeting. Congratulations!
  • Mar. 1, 2018, Dr. Younsu JUNG become Assistant Professor. Congratulations!
  • Sep. 26, JaeYeon KIM was enrolled to Ph.D course. Welcome and congratulations!
  • Apr. 1, Ryo TOYAMA and Yuta NISHIZAKI were enrolled to Master course. Welcome and congratulations!


  • March 27, 2017, Shuhei URAYAMA and Masaomi KOSHIMURA got Master degree. Congratulations!
  • Novemver 16, Secretary Chiharu OSHIKAWA joined.
  • October 25, Pipit Uky VIVITASARI got Best Paper Award of MRS-id. Congratulations!
  • September 27, Lee SEUNGJOO was enrolled to Doctor course, International Graduate Program (IGP(C)). Welcome and congratulations!
  • September 1, Technician Yuka GOTO joined.
  • Apr. 1, Choi YOUNGYOON was enrolled to Doctor course, International Graduate Program (IGP(C)), and Yuma ITO and Ain KWON were enrolled to Master course. Welcome and congratulations!


  • October 6, "Double the (Quantum) Fun", press release from Am. Inst. Phys.
  • October 1, Pipit Uky VIVITASARI was enrolled to Master course, International Graduate Program (IGP(A)). Welcome and congratulations!
  • July 28, Dr. Serdio Victor, Fellow has been selected as INNOVATORS UNDER 35, MIT Technology Reviews. Congratulations!
  • Apr. 2, Naoki KUSUNOKI and Masaomi KOSHIMURA were enrolled to Master course.


    • March 26, 2015, Yuto ONUMA and Takaya MAGATAYAMA got Master degree. Congratulations!
    • October 1, Chun Ouyang was enrolled to PhD course, International Graduate Program (IGP(B)). Welcome and congratulations!


    • March, 2014, Dr. Shinya KANO came back from Cavendish Lab. Univ. of Cambridge.
    • September 26, 2013, Victor SERDIO got Ph.D. Congratulations!
    • Sep. 3, 2013, Mr. Junye Huang, Nanyang Inst. of Tech. joined as ACAP visiting student.
    • August 30, 2013, Candidate of Dr. Victor Serdio got Best Poster Award of KJF2013. Congratulations!
    • From July 1 to August 31, 2013, Ms. Jin A Park (M2) visited as visiting young researcher.
    • From June 17 to July 31, 2013, Prof Gyoujin CHO stayed in my lab. as the adjunct Professor.
    • Apr. 15, 2013, Dr. Shinya KANO joined Prof. Charles G. Smith group, Cavendish Lab. Univ. of Cambridge as visiting researcher.
    • Apr. 2, Yuto Onuma, Yoshiki KOBAYASHI, Takaya MAGATAYAMA were enrolled to Master course.
    • Apr. 1, 2013, Dr. Shinya KANO joined as postdoctoral fellow of JSPS PD.


    • March 26, 2013, Shinya KANO got Dr. of Engineering degree and Shuhei TAKESHITA got Master degree. Congratulations!
    • August 31, 2012, Shuhei TAKESHITA (M2) won KJF2012 Poster Award. Congratulations!
    • April 5, 2012, Eiki AOYAMA and Makoto KAWAMOTO were enrolled to Master course.



    • Luis completed JSPS fellow project with excellent works and returned to Cavendish Laboratory, Univ. of Cambridge, UK. (March 31st, 2011)
    • Shigeki HATTORI has got Dr. of Engineering degree. Congratulations! (March 26th, 2011)
    • Taro MURAKI and Daisuke OGAWA took Master degrees. Congratulations! (March 26th, 2011)
    • The Tohoku-Pacific Ocean Earthquake attacked our laboratory. Nobody was injured in my lab. and no apparatus was broken due to our earthquake countermeasures. We would like to express our sincere condolences to those affected by the Tohoku-Pacific Ocean Earthquake and tsunami. (March 11th, 2011)
    • YOON You-Sang completed his Sotsuron project as "YSEP student"(February 10th, 2011)
    • Shinya Kano (D1) was selected as Research Fellowship for Young Scientists (DC1), Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS). Congratulations. (December 29th, 2011).
    • Assistant Prof. Norio Okabayashi won the Young Scientist Award of the Physical Society of Japan. Congratulations (November 11th, 2010)
    • Ni nanogap electrodes by controlled electroplating and electro-migration is published in Cover art of Nanotechnology. (October 8th, 2010)
    • Hirotaka SUZUKI, Victor M. Serdio V., and Shinya KANO were enrolled to Doctoral course.(October 1st, 2010)
    • Coulomb blockade observation on 2nm Au nanoparticles is published in APEX(October 1st, 2010)
    • Victor M. Serdio V., and Shinya KANO have taken Master degrees. Congratulations! (September 27th, 2010)
    • YOON You-Sang (Hanyang Univ.) joined my laboratory as "YSEP student"(September 17th, 2010)
    • STM image of molecular orientation switch is published in Cover art of J. Phys. Chem. C(September 3rd, 2010)
    • Shinya KANO got Excellent Student Poster Award at "KJF2010". Congratulations. (August 24th, 2010)
    • Prof. Majima won Engineering Education Award, Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, and Science (MEXT) Award by the developments of TOKYO TECH OCW/OCW-i web system. (August 20th, 2010)
    • Secretary MIYAKE joined. (August 3rd, 2010)
    • Secretary MATSUMOTO retired. Good luck. (July 30th, 2010)
    • Candidate or Doctor V. Luis De Los Santos (Cavendish Laboratory, Univ. of Cambridge) joined as JSPS fellow. (April 26th, 2010)
    • Suguru TANAKA, Kosuke MAEDA, and Yoshihiro MINAGAWA were enrolled to Master course. (April 5th, 2010)
    • Assistant Prof. Norio OKABAYASHI joined. (April 1st, 2010)


    • Seiichi SUZUKI has got Dr. of Engineering degree. Congratulations! (March 26th, 2010)
    • Masachika IWAMOTO and Taiyo SUZUKI took Master degrees. Suguru TANAKA and Yoshihiro MINAGAWA graduated from undergraduate course. Congratulations! (March 26th, 2010)
    • Technician Michiyo MIYAKAWA joined. (February 16th, 2010)
    • Secretary Aki MATSUMOTO joined. (October 16th, 2009)
    • Secretary KIMURA retired. Thank you very much. (August 31st, 2009)
    • Seiichi SUZUKI (D3), and Victor Serdio (M2) earned Poster Presentation Awards of "KJF - International Conference on Organic Materials for Electronics and Photonics (ICOMEP) 2009". Congratulations. (August 28th, 2009)
    • Our web page has been renewed (July 6th, 2009)
    • Dr. Yutaka Majima has been promoted to Professor at Materials and Structures Laboratory, Tokyo Institute of Technology. Accordingly, Majima Laboratory has moved to R3 Bldg. Suzukakedai Campus. (July 1st, 2009)
    • Seiichi Suzuki (D3) earned a prize for Outstanding Student Award in Global COE program, Photonics Integration-Core Electronics. (April 15th, 2009)
    • Shinya Kano(M1) earned a prize for Young-scientist poster award in Fifth International Conference on Molecular Electronics and Bioelectronics (M&BE5) . (April 13th, 2009)
    • Suguru Tanaka and Yoshihiro Minagawa joined our laboratory as bachelor. (April 13th, 2009)
    • Daisuke Ogawa, Shinya Kano, Taro Muraki entered master course in our laboratory (April 6th, 2009).
    • Dr. Yasuo Azuma joined our laboratory as Assistant Professor. (April 1st, 2009)